Book Review: Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief, by Rick Riordan

Standard
Percy Jackson and the Olympians, The Lightning Thief, by Rick Riordan

Percy Jackson and the Olympians, The Lightning Thief, by Rick Riordan

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief, by Rick Riordan

AR Level 4.7

I wanted to like this book. I really did. But I just never did warm to it. Maybe it was the narrator (I listened to this on CD), but the writing often felt stilted to me, and I just had a hard time caring much about the characters. Because T. has loved reading The Lost Hero, I may try another of the books in this series, or perhaps just try The Lost Hero again (The Lost Hero is the first book in a follow-up series to the original  Percy Jackson series), though truthfully, when I tried to read that before, I never could quite get into it either. Actually, after reading The Lightning Thief, The Lost Hero seemed like the same story with just a few names changed.

I know these books are vastly popular, and as noted, T. LOVES The Lost Hero, so perhaps we should just chalk this up to a personal peculiarity. After all, if it gets a kid to read… I was going to say something about how I decided that Captain Underpants was actually a good series because T. liked it so much that he asked to be allowed to read. But then I remembered that I liked Captain Underpants too (not sure if I admitted that before). It was funny. Percy Jackson…well, there’s no harm in it, so I’m still glad T. likes the series, but I ‘ll be moving on to other things.

3 responses »

    • Yes, that’s why I think “It’s just me,” when it comes to this series. Usually I’m a fan of stories with quests, magic, and surprising powers suddenly appearing in otherwise uninspiring people, so my lukewarm response was a surprise even to me. By comparison, I’ve just started Eragon, by Christopher Paolini, and am really enjoying it. I also LOVED the Charlie Bone series (to be the subject of a later review). Maybe one of these days I’ll figure out what makes the difference to me.

      In the meantime, I’m glad that T. is enjoying Percy Jackson. There’s certainly no harm in it, and it’s great to see him excited about reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

