Winnie the Pooh and the Red-Letter Day

Standard
 

Winnie the Pooh and Friends

The original Winnie the Pooh and Friends

 

“I can’t write a book commensurate with Shakespeare, but I can write a book by me.”
– Sir Walter Raleigh

 “You may be disappointed if you fail, but you are doomed if you don’t try.”
– Beverly Sills

Today is a red letter day. I’ve finally finished the first draft of The House of Wisdom! Although I’m sure it’s a bit of a disaster, especially as the first 150 pages were written during the craziness of NaNoWriMo, it’s a great feeling just to be done. With this part, anyway. As strongly advised by distinguished sources, I’ll be putting it away for a few weeks before beginning the first re-write.

In addition to the major job of vastly improving on the speed writing I did in November, I’ll also need to work through a couple of major plot issues I recognized once I slowed down the process in December and January. Faced with the choice of starting the whole thing over again, or just continuing as it was and fixing them later, I chose to keep going. As I’ve said before, the main benefit of NaNoWriMo for me was simply having a deadline that encouraged me to keep writing even when I didn’t feel like it. The deadline helped me avoid the temptation to just quit when the story seemed a little kooky, or stale, or not well-enough written for my own taste, or for any of the other reasons I had quit without finishing before. (Perhaps because writing so quickly meant I didn’t have time to worry about all those problems!) When I pick up the draft again, of course, I’ll have to face those issues, and do a fairly significant re-write of some sections to fix them. Yes, I’m a little intimidated. However, I’m reminded of and encouraged by the wise words of a very smart little boy to his tubby little cubby all stuffed with fluff ):

“You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.” – Christopher Robin to Pooh (A.A. Milne) 

4 responses »

  1. This post inspires me to keep on writing. I always second guess myself….love your advice to just keep on writing!
    Congruatulations….quite a big day today.:)
    Hope the rest of your day goes beautifully!

    P.S. Your Pooh quote is one of my all time favorites….I whisper it to myself often!

Leave a Reply

