You cannot prevent the birds of sorrow from flying over your head

Standard

“You cannot prevent the birds of sorrow from flying over your head, but you can prevent them from building nests in your hair.”  – Chinese Proverb

 “It’s surprising how much memory is built around things unnoticed at the time.” – Barbara Kingsolver

As I tell funny Ella stories at lunch for each of the last three days to cheer up friends and family who’ve had one thing or another go wrong, I think of how each of those funny stories is part of the life we are making together as a family, right now. So many small things that seem not significant at the time become the fabric of our lives.

It’s been a busy few weeks in good ways and bad. I keep thinking that things will slow down enough, or at least normalize enough, for me to be able to return to posting something of substance. But the tide rolls on and the craziness continues. In the midst of it all, I’ve been reading far more than I’ve been reviewing. I have half-completed reviews prepared for The Thief Lord and Bird by Bird, and reviews only in my head for Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief (what is it about thieves lately?), among others. Maybe this weekend I’ll finally get caught up…or maybe next.

3 responses »

  1. Some weeks are like that, I hope it gets better! You are right though as you are telling Ella stories you are building your life and your memories of these times.

  2. I forgot to add: The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, The Help, and Traveling Mercies : Some Thoughts on Faith — all worth reading. Maybe one day I’ll get around to saying a little more about them here!

Leave a Reply

