NaNoWriMo Day 6: Getting in the Groove of Things

Standard

I took a day off writing yesterday for a little family time, and am now back in full force. I think I’ll actually catch up on my word count before the day is over (having fallen behind yesterday).

I am having a little trouble moving the story along, though.  Basically, we’re on page 26 now, and it’s still the same day. This is turning out much differently than I envisioned. I pictured the main characters moving through several adventures, as they found their way back home again. Instead, almost 10,000 words in, they are still only about half way through their first adventure, which I’m beginning to think may end up being their only adventure, in this book at least. Fifty thousand words is actually a tad long for a middle grades book, so it’s not like I’m going to just keep adding story lines until I’ve created War and Peace for the fifth grader set.

I was re-reading The Willoughbys this week and was impressed by how quickly, and without wasted words, Lois Lowry moves the story along. I wish I knew how to do that. Any suggestions? Is this a common problem, for beginning writers, anyway?

One response »

  1. Pingback: Winnie the Pooh and the Red-Letter Day « Seeking Zeal

Leave a Reply

