NaNoWriMo Day 1: I think I’m Getting Carpal Tunnel Already

Standard

Wow. Day 1, and I am already beginning to see why writing a book is hard work. I mean, I’m sure this is obvious to all you professional writers out there, but I have to admit that I thought that it would be a bit easier, compared to, say, writing 47 pages of legalese  for a software purchase agreement. I suppose the fact that I read and write all day at work probably doesn’t make it any easier to come home and write “for pleasure” either. Nevertheless (or should I say “Notwithstanding the forgoing or anything otherwise to the contrary in this Agreement”), I’m enjoying at least trying to get that first novel out of me and seeing how it feels to have done it.

The thirty day/50,000 word timeline of NaNoWriMo (whose website is not loading today, by the way) is already stressing me out a little too, although I can see how easy it would be to quit without the competitive incentive (see for instance the multiple examples of times I’ve tried something like this before and not finished) and how helpful it is to have a clear goal for each day.  I’m actually a little ahead of schedule, in fact, so I think I’ll go now and pay some attention to my husband, who very thoughtfully wandered off when I got the old laptop out.

If anybody else out there is working on your Great American Novel this month, or has participated in NaNoWriMo before, I’d love to hear some war stories, and  a little encouragement would be great too!

3 responses »

  1. Hi! Just wanted you to know that I can’t even bear reading legalese, much less write it. So my hat’s off to you! Best of luck in your effort this year. Remember, we are all in this together. We will always be winners as long as we try.

  2. Pingback: Winnie the Pooh and the Red-Letter Day « Seeking Zeal

Leave a Reply

