Nostalgia

Standard

I’ve been thinking again lately about how certain period in my life seem more vivid, or seem as if they lasted longer than they did. For instance, the four years I spent in college in New Hampshire seems like a lifetime — so full of memories, big decisions and experiences.

We are in upstate New York this weekend, finally taking a vacation. After a couple of unseasonably warm days, the weather has changed to a crisp fell day. The cool breezes and brilliant colors bring back days in college, walking to work, and taking in the beauty of the mountains, the trees and the crisp air. My memories of that time are so strong. The feelings of nostalgia brought by today’s weather hurts. I think in those moments twenty years ago, I felt so completelly alive, so in tune with the moment. It’s hard to re-capture that feeling, but it’s sorely missing in my life today.

Which begs the question – how can I live each day in its fullness?

One response »

Leave a Reply

