Don’t believe the Comcast Ads

Standard

I feel so off course right now! In part because I was focused all last week on
planning Todd’s 40th birthday, and in part because our Internet connection went down over the weekend and won’t get fixed until Friday, I’ve gotten completely off track with the financial information updating. Oh, and I got a cold in the middle of it all. I thought I had posted a Friday Finance Update, but obviously I missed that somehow too. Argh!

Well, enough of the whining. Here’s the (late) update: before the Internet went down and I got side-tracked, I had worked through about a third of our accounts.

In a “Why does Comcast make such ridiculously unrealistic commercials?” moment, I learned last night, after about 40 minutes of being on hold, that the first time a Comcast rep could come fix our cable would be on Friday. So…I’m rescheduling my Quicken entries, beginning again on Saturday. Based on the new schedule, I should finish consolidating our financial information during the week of August 23rd, still before my end of August deadline. This will give me the weekend of the 27th to work through some retirement calculators based on our actual current net worth, and to more seriously consider how purchasing a vacation house would work. More on that later.

Rather than just lose the next four nights to TV and irritation at Comcast, I’ll get started on my second task for August: clearing out the Pile of Stuff. I’m afraid this may take the rest of the month even starting now, so maybe there’s a silver lining to this Comcast delay. (No, I will not be doing a commercial in which I thank them for forcing me on a week-long Internet fast.) For this week, while the kids are away, I’ll try to spend about 30 minutes a night on this. I’ll assess my progress on the weekend, and maybe spend a few focused hours digging through the pile on Sunday.

3 responses »

  1. Friday is the soonest date for service call? Maybe I can help. I work for Comcast. If you are interest in my help, feel free to contact me at the email below and provide your info.

    Sorry for the trouble.

    Mark Casem
    Comcast Corp.
    National Customer Operations
    We_can_help@cable.comcast.com

    • Okay, I have to say, it is truly hilarious that the first real “outside” comment I would get on a blog post is from a Comcast rep who is trolling the net for unhappy customers. Well, “Mark”, thanks, but no thanks. The point remains that an average customer (myself) will go four days without internet service, which is a far cry from the customer satisfaction spiel in the current ad campaign.

      At least I know now how to increase my reader count!

  2. We’re actually cancelling our Comcast service in a week when our contract expires. Their customer service IS atrocious and our introductory rate will double. We tried to negotiate with them, letting them know that we have an offer from AT&T for $19.99 internet service for a year. They weren’t interested in working out a compromise, so we’re switching internet providers, dropping cable television and hoping to be able to pick up a few digital channels with an antenna.

    Its really ironic, IMO, that “we the people”, who own the airwaves, are being charged such absurd prices for access to what is rightfully ours in the first place. Cable providers are driving free broadcast television into the ground because the viewership (is that a word?) has dropped so much that they are losing advertising revenue.

    It would be a shame to see broadcast television go the way of the dinosaur but I think that in the end, they won’t be able to win, therefore leaving us without what is rightfully ours in the first place.

    Well, end rant! 😉

Leave a Reply

