Eight months. Five Funerals.

Standard

Beaufort National Cemetary

I missed posting yesterday in part because, I had an unexpected funeral to attend. Unexpected to me, at least. A friend and I were talking afterward about how, for both of us, this has been a heavy year for funerals. This past weekend we lost a friend to lung cancer, the week before, my brother-in-law lost his father to the same horrible disease. Both men were in their sixties, with lots of family, friends and life left to enjoy.

Eight months ago, I spent a week back home trying to help my friend and my parents through the sudden loss of my friend’s husband. He was 43 and had enjoyed dinner out with my parents Friday night. On Saturday morning, he didn’t wake up. Some things are just hard to bear.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Resolved, to experience each day remembering « Seeking Zeal

Leave a Reply

